Title: Just Because I Am: A Child’s Book of Affirmations

Author:  Lauren Murphy Payne, M.S.W., Illustrations by Claudia Rohling

Ages: 2-8

Free Spirit Publishing Inc, Minneapolis: MN, 1994.

Website: http://freespirit.com/

l am myself. I am special and unique.Just Because I Am, Lauren Murphy Payne, M.S. W.

Review: Just Because I Am discusses feelings, safety and taking care of your body in the voice of a child who is learning what it is to be “Me”.   Each page offers an exploration conveyed through colorful pictures and positive messages.   I also found the book to be a helpful tool in teaching a child assertiveness, and healthy boundaries.  Just Because I Am teaches children that it’s okay to say “yes” and “no”, and they have the power to decide what is best.   The themes of Just Because I Am are developing healthy self-esteem and affirming that children deserve respect.

I highly recommend this book; I found the tone and message easy for a child to understand and offers positive support.

Review by EJ ⓒ 2006

 

